From its humble beginnings in 1896 as the National Farm School to its current status as a university, DelVal has been guided by the vision and leadership of its presidents. Read more to learn about each of these men and their tenures as president or acting president of Delaware Valley University.

Joseph Krauskopf Joseph Krauskopf

Founder and President, 1896-1923

Harry B. Hirsch Harry B. Hirsch

President, 1923-1925

Herbert D. Allman Herbert D. Allman

President, 1925-1939

Harold B. Allen Harold B. Allen

President, 1939-1943

Louis Nusbaum Louis Nusbaum

President, 1943-1946

James Work James Work

President, 1946-1974
Chancellor, 1974-1977

Winton Tolles Winton Tolles

Acting President, 1974-1975

Joshua Feldstein Joshua Feldstein

President, 1975-1987
President Emeritus, 1987
Interim President, 1994-1995, 1995-1997

William H. Rorer III William H. Rorer III

President, 1987-1990

Herman Silverman Herman Silverman

Acting President, 1990-1991

George F. West George F. West

President, 1991-1994

William L. George William L. George

President, 1995

Thomas C. Leamer Thomas C. Leamer

President, 1997-2007
President Emeritus, 2007

Joseph S. Brosnan Joseph S. Brosnan

President, 2007 - 2016