DelVal student to attend national leadership conference for college women

May 28, 2013

Donna Carlson

DelVal student, Donna Carlson '15, a business major, will attend the 2013 National Conference for College Women Student Leaders (NCCWSL). The event will be held May 30 through June 1 at the University of Maryland, College Park. It is being hosted by the American Association of University Women (AAUW) and NASPA—Student Affairs Administrators in Higher Education.

The conference provides a transformative experience for attendees, preparing students to return home ready to improve their campuses and their communities. In two and a half fast-paced days, women learn real-world lessons focused on enhancing student leadership.

“I am honored to represent Delaware Valley College and grateful to AAUW for providing me with a NCCWSL scholarship to attend," said Carlson. "I look forward to meeting and learning from the dynamic women who actively and enthusiastically promote leadership, mentorship, and transformative change politically, economically, spiritually, and socially for women of all ages and experience levels."

Since 1985, NCCWSL has provided a platform to help thousands of college and university women develop leadership skills, network with other student leaders, and interact with women who hold leadership positions.

The 2013 conference will feature nationally-known keynote speakers and more than 50 dynamic workshops. The conference is expected to draw more than 700 campus leaders.

A highlight of the conference, the Women of Distinction Awards ceremony and reception pays tribute to women leaders who have made extraordinary contributions in their professions or in their communities. This year’s awards will be presented to the following individuals:

• Gay rights activist Katie Miller
• Owens Media Group CEO Deborah Owens
Girls Who Code Founder Reshma Saujani
• University of Miami President Donna Shalala
Women Thrive Worldwide Co-founder and President Ritu Sharma
CytonomeST Chief Scientific Officer Lydia Villa-Komaroff

The Women of Distinction Awards Ceremony and reception is sponsored by the AAUW of Maryland Barbara Fetterhoff Honorary Fund.